World AIDS Day

For 32 years, the AIDS Service Foundation of Greater Kansas City has acted to eliminate the stigma, suffering and spread of HIV/AIDS in our community.  On the week of World AIDS Day 2019, a week of global solidarity, we rally to achieve our shared goal of an AIDS-free world.

In observance of World AIDS Day 2019, the Foundation will present two events inspired by this drive to Think Globally, Act Locally:  The World AIDS Day Patrons Reception and the World AIDS Day Community Luncheon.

All Patrons of World AIDS Day activities will be invited to the World AIDS Day Patron Party on Tuesday, November 19th, 5:30 to 7:30 pm, at the home of Lynn and Jackie Johnson, located at 6131 Mission Drive, Shawnee Mission, KS  66208.  Patrons will also be invited to the World AIDS Day Community Luncheon on Wednesday, November 20th, 11:00 am to 1:00 pm at the Grand Room at Grand Street Café, located at 4740 Grand Ave., Kansas City, MO 64112.

The Foundation asks that you consider supporting these events.

A highlight of the Community Luncheon on November 20th will be keynote remarks by Ken Williams.  Mr. Williams is a speaker, storyteller, HIV activist, media presence and the creative force behind the award winning, queer-conscious, video blog, Ken Like Barbie.  Diagnosed with HIV in 2010, Ken has contributed much of his online presence to issues affecting PLHIV, with a special attention to communities of color.  Ken’s storytelling approach has not only been celebrated by the LGBT community but his video work and messaging is honored globally.

We thank you for your steadfast commitment to the mission of the AIDS Service Foundation and for your consideration of our request in support of World AIDS Day 2019. You’ve helped fight HIV.  Now let’s end it.

For information on how you can support World AIDS Day, click here.

Proudly powered by Wordpress